The Importance of The resurrection of Jesus

Jesus died!  He really died, completely died.  What is death though?  I have never experienced death.  I don’t really think about it that much.  I think its because I see my life as going on after this age.  But what is death really; what did Jesus do for me?

I believe that Jesus saved me from death.  That He took away the sting of death.  Does this just effect me for that day when I pass from this life to the next or does it effect me today and the way I live my life?

Jesus is life; He said that everlasting life is knowing God.  I believe that He really came to give me life more abundantly.  I believe that that is for today and forever.  The more I know Jesus who is life the more I experience life which is life more and more.

So death is more than just nothingness after this life.  I think death is emotional, mental, spiritual, and physical separation from Jesus Christ Himself.  It is anguish of the soul, it is torment, physical pain, it is confusion, fear, depression… the place where there the goodness of God is not around.   Jesus took on my flesh and went to that place of complete separation from the presence of the everlasting living God.

Just breathing and eating and living on this earth is not the real definition of life.   On this earth we experience the goodness of God everyday whether we recognize it or not.  We can see life all around us and even feel the presence of joy and peace.  I believe that everlasting true life is found only in the death and resurrection of Jesus Christ.  I believe that Jesus dethroned the power of death reigning in me when He broke the power of death at His resurrection from the dead.

So I will never have to experience the sting of death.  Jesus completely rose and completely had victory over death for me.  Now through the power of the Holy Spirit in me I can become more alive through Jesus.  I will go from life to more life as Jesus is revealed in me more and more.

Leave a comment